Ohio State Law requires any dog over the age of three (3) months to have a license within 30 days of ownership. Any license purchased after 30 days of ownership, or renewed after the annual renewal period between December 1 through January 31 must include a penalty equal to the cost of the license. Your dog's license may be purchased at the Auditor's Office Monday through Friday between 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. or at the Darke County Animal Shelter located at 5066 County Home Rd. in Greenville.
$16.00 Per Dog
$80.00 for a Kennel License (MUST BE PURCHASED AT THE DARKE COUNTY ANIMAL SHELTER)
A duplicate license for a current lost license is only $5.00.
To transfer a current license to a new owner is only $5.00.
Ohio Law Requires a Late Fee Equal To The Cost Of The License. There is no provision in the law to waive the fee. If you renew your dog's license after the January 31 Due Date the cost will be as follows:
$32.00 Per Dog
$160.00 for a Kennel License
Ohio Law Requires licenses to be renewed each year between December 1 and January 31.
If you move to Darke County from another county within Ohio we will honor the license until it is expired. However, if you move here from another state you are required to purchase a license immediately upon arrival. If you wait more than 30 days, we are required to charge a penalty equal to the license fee.
Having a license tag attached to your dog's collar may help your dog find its way home in the event he becomes lost. Our office may be contacted between the hours of 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, Monday - Friday to help find the owner of a lost dog. The license number is all the Dog Warden needs to identify a dog's owner. However, please remember if the license tag is not attached to your dog's collar it will not help in the event your dog is lost. The law requires each dog to be wearing his tag. A dog can be Seized and Impounded by the Dog Warden if he is over three months old and found not wearing his license tag, per Ohio Revised Code 955.12.
Ohio law specifies that all dogs must be confined to your property or under reasonable control. It is not safe (and not legal) to allow your dog to roam the neighborhood.
The laws governing dog licensing in the State of Ohio may be found in the Ohio Revised Code (ORC), sections 955.01, 955.05, and 955.26.
If you have any questions, please call the Auditor’s Office at 937-547-7310 or the Darke County Animal Shelter at 937-547-1645. You may also visit the Animal Shelters website at www.darkecountyanimalshelter.com.